Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

4wd hi and low

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2007 | 01:53 AM
*Old_School* is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 4wd hi and low

Im a complete noob. When do you use which?

Old 07-14-2007 | 12:09 PM
BF Veteran
TripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: 4wd hi and low

Oh wow...

The easy answer is to check your owner's manual. 4HI is for most all off-road situations or any circumstance where there is traction is limited. Examples include beach sand, decent accumulation of snow on the roads, any trails, etc. 4LO is used very rarely by the average person. Situations where it would be necessary might include being stuck in mud, pulling another vehicle out of a hole, etc. I don't think I've used 4LO even once except to be sure of its functionality when I first bought the vehicle. Also, while you can shift on the fly to 4HI, you want to be completely stopped and in neutral before shifting to or from 4LO.