Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

ABS light & issues after axle replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2011, 11:14 PM
Starting Member
ferret13sj is on a distinguished road
Default ABS light & issues after axle replacement

2000 GMC Jimmy 4x4. Sorry I'm not good at short stories, so please bear with me!

Had my right front CV axle replaced today. Afterwards when I started the car, the ABS light came on and stayed on. Mechanic reached under there and wiggled the sensor wiring around and the light went off. He told me it shouldn't be a problem and we'd check it next week when we do the ignition switch. So I drove off and the ABS light came on again shortly (as he said it probably would). No problems driving several miles, with lots of braking in between.

After stopping at a store, I noticed the ABS light did NOT come on when I restarted the car. But when I went to leave the parking lot, hitting the brakes (very slow speed) to check for traffic on the road, I got a loud groaning sound with a vibrating hard resistance in the brake pedal...thought I wasn't going to stop....then the ABS light turned ON and the braking returned to normal. Freaked me out of course. I drove to an empty parking lot and tested it out several times. Turn the car off, restart, no ABS light, hit the brakes and got the same sound/resistance, then ABS light would come on within seconds and back to normal braking.