Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Need help with front end!

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2012, 07:41 AM
butcherbill is on a distinguished road
Default Need help with front end!

Hi All, I 'm a new member here. I have a 2002 Chevy blazer ls 4x4 4.3 v6. I noticed the steering wheel is at 11 o clock when driving straight and when up to speed(over30mph) I hear a noise from the front passenger side? I took off tire and noticed the tire has wear just on the inside? Both outer tie rod end boots just hanging there? A friend told me to jack the front up and move tire east and west and noticed a little play,then do the same north and south and there is play which means tie rod ends? I plan on replacing both the tie rod ends. ANY help or advice would be appreciated as this is my first time doing this repair!
Thanks,butcherbill

Old 04-03-2012, 08:15 AM
2002XTREME is an unknown quantity at this point

The north and south,movements could also be Ball joints and or hub bearings...

Old 04-03-2012, 08:57 AM
butcherbill is on a distinguished road

Hi, Thanks a lot! Are the upper and lower ball joints hard to replace? Is the wheel bearing hard to replace also? Any videos or how to replace them or advice you can share?
Thanks,butcherbill

Old 04-03-2012, 09:32 AM
2002XTREME is an unknown quantity at this point

well ya have a few options here for the ball joints:
First , it can be taken to a shop and have them do it with the proper tools but it could get pricey for them to do it.

Second: Get the proper tools needed and try it yourself and save on labor.

Third: Get a really big hammer beat the hell out of them to get them out, but putting them back in will be tricky to do it properly.There is actually a ball joint removal and replacement tool set for them. "Harbor freight sells them".

Hub Bearings:
On a 4x4 if you need to have the axles pressed out of the hub bearing then have a shop do it.