Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Wheel Bearings- Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2007, 12:52 AM
iturnrocks is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Wheel Bearings- Need Help

My wheel bearings on the passenger front wheel are going bad. I hear a whop, whop, whop sound that gets faster when I speed up. At first I thought it was tire noise, but I got new tires and its still just as loud. I have a couple of questions.
I have a 2001 ZR2 4wd.

How difficult is it to change these? Im no mechanic, but I can change brake pads, rotors, alternator, stuff like that.

What causes wheel bearings to go bad?

What ill effects is this having on my Blazer by not changing them immediately?

And what could happen down the road if I dont fix it soon? worst case scenarios

Also on a different subject- does anyone have a long term fix for the squeaky hatch? I lube it up every now and then and it stays quiet for a couple of months. I was just wondering if anyone has solved this problem, because I know lots of people are plagued by it.

Old 02-12-2007, 11:36 AM
MNHawk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Wheel Bearings- Need Help

First:
This help link is not for your year, but pretty close to the same. Its easy enough to do just about any one with a few tools can do it.
https://blazerforum.com/m_56421/tm.htm

Second:
It's a sealed bearing. How you drive can be the biggest killer of these. I have seen avg. drivers not have to replace these til they hit 180k. Agressive drivers have to do these about every 30k. Weekend drivers go and never need to change them.

Third:
If you let it go too long, your wheel could fall off. And if this happens on a curve or highway (OUCH) is all I can say.

Worst case, you total your Blazer