1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Removal of A/C

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2006, 08:26 PM
caducus is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Removal of A/C

I'm sure this has been asked before, but I couldn't seem to find anything via the Search function. The A/C on my 1988 V-6 Blazer doesn't work. Having cut the roof off the truck I have no reason to repair it, so I'd like to lose it.

Where can I get instructions on removal of the whole system. I want to keep the heater running, but all the A/C componets: the compresser, evaporator, etc can all get the hell out.

-Jeff

Old 05-02-2006, 10:42 PM
94Blazer6.5 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Removal of A/C

I have never done that before, but I would just starting removing the suff and plug the holes in the fire wall has you go. I don't the A/C has anything to do with the heater, but I could be wrong. However what about your defroster, like when it's warm out and raining hard and you can't drop the top or even crack a window because you'll get soaked? I run into that problem alot in Houston, Hot outside and raining hard while the windshield fogs up.

Old 05-03-2006, 12:34 AM
blazingsadle is an unknown quantity at this point

The air and heat come together at the heater box so that flowing fan air can run hot or cold air through the duct system.

When you get done you'll find yourself with a huge box that has the fan located on it. The one for AC delete is much smaller. Or, in other words, the one supplied with a car without air is much smaller. This is so cause there is another coil (cold air source) in it. The ac delete will still have the proper places to hookup the wires and so on, but will only work for heat, defrost and venting purposes.

Junkyard may have one.

Its a wise idea to find this part and substitute it.