2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Check Engine Soon

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2010, 02:53 PM
Starting Member
mxtmanx5 is on a distinguished road
Post Check Engine Soon

I am new to this so I hope I am doing this correctly.
I have recently purchased a 01 Blazer LT. I took my Blazer in yesterday to get it serviced in order to keep the extended warrenty we purchased in good standing. After picking up the Blazer I noticed the check eng. soon light was on and would not go off. We have driven it 3000 plus with no lights, no problems until now. I contacted the business where we had it serviced and purchased from and they are trying to blame the light on something else.(Go figure...extended warrenty!) When I opened the hood I discovered the filler cap was off. With all the sensors this thing has would this not light one up? Also when the engine is first started after a oil change it will have no oil pressure for a moment, won't this set the sensor off as well? What I need to know if anyone can help is how do you reset this if you were doing your own oil changes, which I will be doing after the warrenty expires. I would like to try reseting myself before paying them to rob me. I have disconnected the Neg. and also the Pos. on the battery for 5 minutes and reconnected, I was told to try this but the light still remains on. Please help me if you can and would. I have worked on and rebuilt many eng. in my time but this new electronic crap has got me stumped.HELP!!!!!! Thank you

Old 09-25-2010, 03:19 PM
BF Guru