Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

smart trak problems!

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2010, 12:59 AM
grim306m is on a distinguished road
Default smart trak problems!

I recently traded my old k1500 for a 98 bravada, well after i got the truck we noticed that the 4 wheel drive does not work. So I did a lot of research to find out that the encoder motors go bad often. So i changed the encoder motor out and picked up a vacuum actuator up but i can not figure out where it goes. Every where read people say that its under the battery tray but mine is not there? Some people say that it could be on top of the transfer case which would be a trick and if it is up there is it still the same diaphragm style or is it the electronic style? If my 4wd does not work after i change that out what else could be the problem? Can you have the transmission computer flashed? Im new to these truck and do not know much about them besides what i have read, so some info would be greatly appreciated.

Old 02-09-2010, 06:26 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Have you changed the transfer case fluid (GM Autotrak II ONLY!)?

Did you put the proper AWD (NV136) encoder motor on? Have you checked the electrical connections at the TCCM (located behind the passenger side kick panel)?

The front axle on the AWD trucks is always engaged so you will have no actuator for the front axle.

Old 02-09-2010, 08:18 AM

I have not changed the fluid, i will do that today.

The encoder motor i got was specified for a 98 bravada so i hope it's the right one.