Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Rear Window help for noob!

Old 03-12-2011, 05:32 PM
Beginning Member
educky is on a distinguished road

I know... ANOTHER rear window thing... (3 Questions)

Im waiting on my factory service manual, and LMC's site is well the drawings arent helping... so

My rear window is not going down... not sure about up but not down... took apart the panel in the back and saw this:

http://www.djducky.com/k5/images/WP_000097.jpg

That large blue cable, what is is? and im no expert but it looks broken... and not where it should go... what do i need to do to fix this?

2nd question:

http://www.djducky.com/k5/images/WP_000098.jpg

What is that lever with the black rubber tip, its silly its behind the panel, whats it do, id rather not loose my fingers so ill ask instead of just try it.

3rd Question

If I find a manual tailgate, for the same year model as mine, can I use the manual instead of the electric? I see alot of threads about going from manual to electrical, but none for the reverse...

Ducky

Also, that broken blue cable I'm assuming goes into that threaded part of the black box above it?

Last edited by rriddle3; 03-13-2011 at 06:02 PM. Reason: COMBINING CONSECUTIVE POSTS
Old 03-12-2011, 06:01 PM
Starting Member
Z71_Guy is on a distinguished road

yes that black box is the window motor and that cable is supposed to go where the treads are on the bottom, that cable is the regulator cable, it sends the power from the motor to the regulator which brings the window up and down.

i dont see why you cant go to manual just change the tail gate much simpler than going to electric

Old 03-12-2011, 10:41 PM
Beginning Member