General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

new member, not quite owner....yet

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2010, 04:07 PM
sshotick is on a distinguished road
Default new member, not quite owner....yet

Hi all, I'm currently a Grand Am driver and its fading fast, so I've begun looking into new cars and the Blazer seems to be one i keep coming back to, probably in the 2000-2005 range. I found--long ago--the grandamgt.com forum and its been a lifesaver for all the problems with that car and started looking for a similar forum for the Blazer, and voila, landed here.

so anyway, as I said I'm considering the Blazer, but all the trouble with my current 2000 GM product has me kind of leery of another one from that era. I've read the reviews of the era Blazers I've been looking at, but they were written when they were the new models, and now that they've been on the road for a few years, I was wondering what the general consensus of them is around here. I've read about the fuel pump issues, but any other majors? For instance, there isn't a GAGT owner around who hasn't had to do the LIM gasket ($$$) at least once...mine is on its 3rd in the 6 years I've had it, and it was 5 years old when i got it. If I had found forum before I was thinking about the Grand Am, I probably would have run away from the deal, and trying not to get burned like that again.

So unleash it on me, how are they?

Oh, and I'd most likely get a 4DR and being Ohio in the winter, 4WD would be nice, but not a must. I have had some experience with the S-type frames from GM, i did have a 1995 S-10 4cyl about 10 years ago and although it had its share of problems, looking back now, nothing compared to the car I'm in now.

Thanks,
Sam

Old 12-19-2010, 06:09 PM
BF Guru