General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Fuel Gauge

 
 
 
 
  #1  
Old 10-29-2006, 06:56 PM
jop
jop is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
jop is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Fuel Gauge

I just recently 3 days ago bought my 1st 1999 Blazer 4X4 2 Door. It has of course the 6 Cyl with pushbutton 4 wheel drive.

I noticed that when I got it from the dealership the fuel gauge was jumping all over the place and they kept it 3 days and it was fine yesterday.

Today I got 4 new tires and an alignment done as I went up in size to a beefier larger tire. I went from 235/15 to a 30.5 in size.

I now notice that the fuel gauge is jumping all over the place again does anyone have any suggestions?

They for some reason did have my battery disconnected as the clock had lost its setting.
 
  #2  
Old 10-29-2006, 07:33 PM
BF Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,654
jagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant futurejagblazer01 has a brilliant future
Default RE: Fuel Gauge

i answered this in ur New Member Area post but most likely its ur fuel sending unit inside ur tank
 
  #3  
Old 10-29-2006, 07:35 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,783
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Fuel Gauge


ORIGINAL: jagblazer01

i answered this in ur New Member Area post but most likely its ur fuel sending unit inside ur tank
Exactly why the 'New Member' area is for new member introductions only and all tech questions should be in the tech section.
 
  #4  
Old 10-30-2006, 09:35 AM
jop
jop is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
jop is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Fuel Gauge

Sorry about the posting in the wrong place in advance.

The fuel sending unit is what they supposedly replaced at the dealership and it was working fine for one day then after the tire installation and alignment it is now all screwed up again.

Ughhhhh
 
  #5  
Old 10-30-2006, 04:06 PM
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 865
20Blazer00 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Fuel Gauge

Take it back and have them to fix what they said they fixed.

Changing tires should not require disconnecting the battery, you might check the positive battery terminal if the battery is still original AC/Delco they are known for loose terminals inside the battery...
 
  #6  
Old 10-30-2006, 05:20 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 124
Brian J. Lesko is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Fuel Gauge

Common problem. I vote for the fuel sending unit inside the tank as well.
 
  #7  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:51 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,783
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Fuel Gauge

As Mark (20Blazer00) has already said, if they claim to have replaced the fuel level sending unit, then they should fix it again if it isn't right.
 
  #8  
Old 10-31-2006, 03:10 AM
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 130
USMaverick101 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Fuel Gauge

I agree with them, their fault, their fix
 
  #9  
Old 10-31-2006, 08:31 AM
jop
jop is offline
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 9
jop is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Fuel Gauge

Thanks for the replies. Taking it back tomorrow to be looked at and fixed
 
 
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
grayman63
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
6
07-17-2013 01:56 PM
JonZRDeuce
Lighting & Electrical
0
02-05-2012 06:38 PM
hoppy26
Lighting & Electrical
0
01-26-2012 02:08 PM
Mulisha
1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
5
03-24-2008 09:14 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Fuel Gauge


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.