Headers, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Changing the CAT & Y Pipes for performance parts?

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2017, 10:12 PM
Starting Member
Amanda Bonney is on a distinguished road
Default Changing the CAT & Y Pipes for performance parts?

I'm new to the whole car modification world, so please bear with if I sound a little inexperienced and noobish. I have a passion and desire to learn and gain more experience.

So I am looking to modify my vehicle a tad - 1996 Chevy Blazer LS S10 4WD V6 4.3L - to gain some more performance/gas mileage out of it. On one side, changing the Y pipes and such I read somwhere to performance will help, as well as a perfomance catalytic, but then another side is that none of those will help and only an engine swap would.

What are your takes on this? My car has 240k miles on it, runs like a champ still, and has had no issues. I expect to do an engine swap/rebuild sometime in the future with an end goal of *maybe* having a v8 installed.

Thanks for your help!

Old 06-09-2017, 11:36 AM
Brian Hinzpeter is on a distinguished road

What is your end goal? There are a lot of little things you can do and some big things as well. If you just want to make it a little bit more fun then start with the throttle body mod. Doing the tune up if it is overdue will also help with power and fuel economy. Those are just 2 examples you can even do a CAI with the exhaust if you wanted but I fear both of those will only give you more engine noise not power. Which can still be good if you are into that kind of thing. IF you really wanted to go crazy while sticking with the 4.3L V-6 rebuild the engine raise the compression swap the cam or you could even get a supercharger. The sky really is the limit. Before you travel down that rabbit hole remember More power uses More fuel. You can have more Miles per gallon, or more Smiles per gallon. Good luck and have fun.