Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

Adding a set of LED blinkers

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2013, 05:24 PM
Starting Member
Badco is on a distinguished road
Default Adding a set of LED blinkers

So I got some mountable strips of LEDs the other day, and I've heard about having to put resistors and stuff in them when you wire them up? I'm by no means an electrician so bear with me here.

My original plan was to splice the blinker wire and run it to each LED which would be mounted on both sides of the back window... Maybe... I think. These are the strips and the operating voltage is 9-14.8 volts. Am I going to need anything at radioshack? They'll be here on Friday so that gives me plenty of time to figure out this electrical thing.

Old 07-10-2013, 10:07 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about

They will work without a resistor, but if you want them just as blinkers, there is no "just blinker wire" blinker and brake light are ran on the same circuit. so the lights will function as both.

Old 07-11-2013, 01:17 AM
BF Veteran
Thogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura about

If you are keeping the stock tail lights, then you won't need any resistors like rich said.

Old 07-11-2013, 06:07 AM
Starting Member

If thats the case I may try and do something different. I'd like them to be dedicated turn signal lights, yellow is hardly my idea of a stop light. Are the brake light and turn signal activators run off the same unit?

USPS says they've arrived at my local post office. Exciting!

Old 07-11-2013, 12:33 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about

Hopefully someone can chime in on this one.