Notices
The Lounge For casual talk about things unrelated to Blazers (ie. Off-Topic).

How Blazers stand up in a crash!

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2009, 07:10 AM
Red Horse is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How Blazers stand up in a crash!

I've been an Emt for about 5 years now and have been too the scenes of more car accidents than I can keep track of and YES more than a few involved Blazers and here is what I've observed.

When a Blazer is involved with another car in a crash the Blazer always seems too fare better than the "other" car or light truck, Blazers seem to be made well and they crumble like the makers designed them too.

Now because I'm a Wilderness rescue Emt I've seen many accidents involving Blazers V.S. large animals such as Moose, deer and a few black bears and from what I've seen Blazers that hit Moose head on don't do very well, heck a Mack truck grill doesn't do well when it comes up against a Moose.

If the impact zone is off too the left or right of center I'm very surprised at how well the blazer body holds up, sure you can't drive it away but if it saves your life than it was a GOOD car/truck.

I've seen Blazers hit deer and while most of the time it is fatal for the deer 8 out of 10 times the blazer could be driven from the scene, so when I was considering my next "light truck type" auto I remembered being impressed with how well the Blazers held up in different accidents and this was a big factor in why I would select a Blazer 4X4 for driving in the North Country of New England.

We do get a lot of snow up here as well and too be without a 4X4 is hit or miss during storms, driving anything less than a 4X4 means that your going too miss some days of work during the winter and who can afford that.

So when I see a Blazer coming down the road I know that there goes a guy or gal who will probably live through a car V.S large animal crash and also be able too get too work in a storm.