Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Rear Differential: Locker, Limited Slip

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2009, 02:44 PM
JODYM is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Rear Differential: Locker, Limited Slip

I just purchased a 2000 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4x4 ( automatic ) and using it for plowing, only one wheel spins and I'm wondering what differential locker is available to install. Looking for something that is ok to drive down the road on dry pavement and will lock up when plowing snow. I've heard of lockers that ratchet when you make a turn on dry pavement and that is a normal noise but people complain about it but it doesn't bother me, just looking for something that I can get for the rear diff. that I can install easily and don't have to change the backlash and stuff like that if it is even available I'm new to this so any help would be great. My blazer will sit alot over the summer months i just want to be able to push snow a little better and having that other rear turn turning should help alot Please help Thanks Jody

Old 01-13-2009, 02:52 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Rear Differential: Locker, Limited Slip

The cheapest and easiest solution would be what is classified as a "lunchbox" locker. One that installs in place of the spider gears. This type of locker locks solid whenever you are on the accelerator and are allowed to unlock when you are not. Turning can get tricky with this type of locker.

Old 01-13-2009, 02:56 PM