2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

96 Blazer Rough Idle

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2014, 01:22 PM
Beginning Member
spotteddog is on a distinguished road
Default 96 Blazer Rough Idle

I replaced the fuel pump on my white 96 2WD 4.3L about 3 months ago. The Delphi pump solved the no start issue and after testing the fuel pressure at the fuel filter inlet, or right after the pump it shows + 70 or higher and it holds this with the pump not running. I have replaced the spider on another 96 (red) blazer so I have some "on the job" experience with how most of the fuel delivery works on these. That being said back to the white blazer, at the shraeder service port I get a dropping pressure down to 40psi or lower when doing the key on test. I know that a leaking injector or a leaking regulator could be the problem with the pressure drop. What I am unsure of is the fuel return line and what it connects to as the culprit as the possible problem. I was about to remove the intake manifold and I suddenly realized that I was unsure of the operation of this fuel return line in the fuel delivery system. I have done both lower manifold once and the upper twice on my other 96 Blazer so it seems I should know more about the return fuel line but duh...could someone please enlighten me as to the operation of the return line. That is the other smaller tube into the spider block. Affect on drive ability is that at idle the engine is rough to very rough however it hasn't died. As soon as you give it gas it accelerates and runs perfectly and seems to not be using excessive fuel. Thanks for your help.

Old 01-27-2014, 02:14 PM
spittybays

Sorry bit of a tough read.

Are you asking if the return line is the cause of your FP drop down?

Old 01-27-2014, 04:23 PM
Beginning Member