Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Adding extra speakers

  #1  
Old 12-01-2015, 11:03 AM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
MyWorkInProgress is on a distinguished road
Default Adding extra speakers

Howdy, I got a '94 4 door Jimmy and I want to add speakers. I just purchased Rockford Fosgate's for the dash and rear doors but I want to add a set to the rear quarters or maybe the tailgate? And a set to the front doors, so that's 4 extra speakers in total. My question is what do I need in order to do this I don't want to splice wires, I have a newer Kenwood head unit installed as well. Can I hook up an amp and run the extra speakers off of that? And an extra little side question, I've yet to install the new RF's but my dash speakers make no sound at all and the wiring from what I saw installing the Kenwood is good, any ideas? Thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 12-01-2015, 04:06 PM
altoncustomtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Monroe City, IN
Posts: 932
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough
Default

I wouldn't normally recommend anyone to run so many speakers spread out around the vehicle. It ruins any sense of soundstage and imaging in the music recording. However I also believe that everyone should do it the way they like it, so to each his own.

If you're not wanting to hook them all up to the HU, and you really shouldn't, then your only other solution is an external amplifier. Personally I would recommend putting ALL the speakers on external amps. They'll sound better with more dynamic range and less distortion than on the HU. Use care in the installation of the speakers along with at least a little sound deadener. That coupled with the external amps and I think you'll be amazed at the results.

As far as the dash speakers not working, since you've not installed the new ones yet I would venture to guess that the speakers are blown or not hooked up. The factory speakers are notorious for randomly dying, assuming the previous owner didn't do anything with them.
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-2015, 09:26 AM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
MyWorkInProgress is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by altoncustomtech View Post
I wouldn't normally recommend anyone to run so many speakers spread out around the vehicle. It ruins any sense of soundstage and imaging in the music recording. However I also believe that everyone should do it the way they like it, so to each his own.

If you're not wanting to hook them all up to the HU, and you really shouldn't, then your only other solution is an external amplifier. Personally I would recommend putting ALL the speakers on external amps. They'll sound better with more dynamic range and less distortion than on the HU. Use care in the installation of the speakers along with at least a little sound deadener. That coupled with the external amps and I think you'll be amazed at the results.

As far as the dash speakers not working, since you've not installed the new ones yet I would venture to guess that the speakers are blown or not hooked up. The factory speakers are notorious for randomly dying, assuming the previous owner didn't do anything with them.
OK so with the amplifier what should I be looking at as far as 2/4 channel number of watts etc. I've never hooked 3 ways to an amp before is it the same process as a subwoofer? And last but not least I'll have 6 speakers hooked up and only one set of rca plugs in the Kenwood would a splitter cut the power down too much with 2 amps or is there 1 single amp you can recommend that'll run 6 speakers?
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-2015, 11:31 AM
altoncustomtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Monroe City, IN
Posts: 932
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough
Default

By my count you were looking to run eight, and yes 6 or 8 I would use two separate amplifiers. If it's 8 speakers then a pair of four channels, if it's 6 then you could get by with a four channel and a two channel. Or you could go ahead and get two four channels and bridge the leftover set of channels to run a sub in the future.

It's hard to know what to recommend as far as power is concerned without knowing what brand and model of speakers you're using. Otherwise, yes you would hook up your highs to the speakers the same way you would a subwoofer to a subwoofer amp. It takes a bit of extra work to run all those speaker wires to the individual speaker locations, but as I had already expressed it's well worth the cost and effort of doing this for the results you'll gain in the end.

Using splitters to get the signal to all the inputs for the amps should not be an issue. With the right amplifiers you should only need one set of splitters as some amps have the ability to internally split the 1&2 channels into 3&4. That will all depend on your budget and preference on brands.
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-2015, 02:14 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 13
MyWorkInProgress is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by altoncustomtech View Post
By my count you were looking to run eight, and yes 6 or 8 I would use two separate amplifiers. If it's 8 speakers then a pair of four channels, if it's 6 then you could get by with a four channel and a two channel. Or you could go ahead and get two four channels and bridge the leftover set of channels to run a sub in the future.

It's hard to know what to recommend as far as power is concerned without knowing what brand and model of speakers you're using. Otherwise, yes you would hook up your highs to the speakers the same way you would a subwoofer to a subwoofer amp. It takes a bit of extra work to run all those speaker wires to the individual speaker locations, but as I had already expressed it's well worth the cost and effort of doing this for the results you'll gain in the end.

Using splitters to get the signal to all the inputs for the amps should not be an issue. With the right amplifiers you should only need one set of splitters as some amps have the ability to internally split the 1&2 channels into 3&4. That will all depend on your budget and preference on brands.
Yeah I changed my mind on the door pods so it'll just be 6. I have a few amps lying around so I should be able to get something going here. Thanks for your help.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Eraston
Audio/Video Electronics
50
05-03-2011 11:52 PM
travisrussell88
Audio/Video Electronics
12
01-23-2011 01:24 AM
portcqb
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
3
09-30-2008 07:55 PM
jagblazer01
Audio/Video Electronics
3
07-12-2007 12:51 PM
flyinbrad
General Chat
21
07-06-2007 07:05 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Adding extra speakers


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.