Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

amp bypass

  #1  
Old 01-15-2014, 11:17 PM
big_charms@hotmail.com's Avatar
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: tillsonburg Ontario
Posts: 84
big_charms@hotmail.com is an unknown quantity at this point
Default amp bypass

For starters I have a 2001 blazer with the factory Bose stereo system I have changed the head unit to a Kenwood and it's has factory door And dash speakers and aftermarket rear speakers. I Will be changing out the stock speakers prior to the installation. But the problem was the Sound and quality wasn't right so after a month or so of searching I Came across a amp bypass wiring harness
It seems very simple to install plug into the wires harness where the Amp is located under the center console and run the wires to the head Unit And attach the speaker wires the the corresponding wires on the back of the Deck. The only problem I can't figure out is what will happen to my dash Speakers Will they Just run off the front door speakers?
Has anyone used tags bypass harness before is there anything I should watch out for?
 
  #2  
Old 01-16-2014, 12:19 AM
altoncustomtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Monroe City, IN
Posts: 932
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough
Default

I've never used a harness for that before. I've always done it the hard way and ran a new wire from the HU to each speaker. That way I KNOW it's done right.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-2014, 12:44 AM
big_charms@hotmail.com's Avatar
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: tillsonburg Ontario
Posts: 84
big_charms@hotmail.com is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well that was a option I tossed around but I figured I'd give it a try. It's pretty much what this harness dose without having to pull half the truck apart.
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-2014, 06:25 AM
altoncustomtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Monroe City, IN
Posts: 932
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough
Default

Actually it doesn't, there's a bigger difference than that. It bypasses the factory amp, allowing the internal amp of the aftermarket HU to drive the speakers directly. The signal from the HU is still having to travel through factory sized wires, each and every connection and plug that the factory wires have to get to the speakers. Sure that works good enough for most people as long as there's not corroded connectors, bad places in the wires, etc.

I like the peace of mind knowing that there's a new, heavier gauge, unedited piece of wire that runs straight from the signal source (HU in this particular conversation) to the speakers. Now at these power levels the heavier gauge wire isn't any sort of big deal but if one ever decides to install an external amplifier to power the speakers with (highly recommended BTW) the new wires are in place and there's less work to do when that time comes.

The harness makes it quick and easy to bypass the factory amp and is fine for the average person who will never do more than replace the HU and the factory speakers with whatever speakers fills the holes right. If you know that's all you ever plan to do then the harness is for you. If you plan to do more, really make the audio better with good speakers and external amps in the future then it's worth the time and effort to go ahead and get new wires ran now rather than later.
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-2014, 09:27 AM
big_charms@hotmail.com's Avatar
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: tillsonburg Ontario
Posts: 84
big_charms@hotmail.com is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Why yes running new wire will ensure quality. I am far from having a quality system and your correct I am Just slapping speakers that fit in but they aren't cheapest I could find. I am however running an amp and subs. I'm aware my system is far from perfect but knowing how little I have payed for everything I am truly happy with.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-2014, 09:08 PM
big_charms@hotmail.com's Avatar
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: tillsonburg Ontario
Posts: 84
big_charms@hotmail.com is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

All installed. Went well. Very simple to do. Eliminated all the issues I was having. Which were a high pitch hum in the speakers. I can now control the bass level in the speakers and the low volume is now down to where it should beOnly problem is the dash speakers now don't work with out the amp. If I would have thought of it I would have wired them to the front speakers at the deck. That's tomorrows project.*
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JohnBarJB
Audio/Video Electronics
16
10-18-2015 10:48 AM
unpredictable1
Audio/Video Electronics
8
10-26-2014 04:12 AM
BlznAnt
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
2
05-08-2007 07:25 PM
viper4559
Audio/Video Electronics
7
04-20-2007 06:03 PM
94 blazer
Engine & Internal
1
12-19-2005 12:50 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: amp bypass


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.