Builds Whether you are building something new or rebuilding something old, post up your build threads here. Open to all projects!

4l60e torque converter issues

  #1  
Old 09-30-2018, 08:43 PM
PAblazerboy2000's Avatar
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: York Pennsylvania
Posts: 31
PAblazerboy2000 is on a distinguished road
Default 4l60e torque converter issues

Ok, I am getting ready to swap in a 5.3 in my 2000 4d 4wd, and I can't find a difinative answer on the torque converter issue. Heres my idea, the trans in it now is from a late 90's full sized gm with a 350 vortec, I have a 4l65 from a 03 Tahoe, and I am wondering if I can just switch the torque converter from the old style small block one, to the new ls one, and make up for the offset of the crank shaft. Any ideas would be appreciated, and the reason I'm not putting the 65 in with the V8 is becyi don't have the money to build it up to the trans. Thank you for looking at my three..
 
  #2  
Old 09-30-2018, 09:27 PM
Starting Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southwest TX
Posts: 228
ChuckNTruck is on a distinguished road
Default

Does the vortec trans have a removable bell housing?
Im willing to bet that the Vortec 4L60E converter will not be compatible with the newer 4L65E trans due to the trans input shaft. you will have to see once the trans is out what input shaft both transmissions have.
This may help some to show the differences.
https://ls1tech.com/forums/automatic...s1-4l60-e.html
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-2018, 09:41 PM
PAblazerboy2000's Avatar
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: York Pennsylvania
Posts: 31
PAblazerboy2000 is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by ChuckNTruck View Post
Does the vortec trans have a removable bell housing?
Im willing to bet that the Vortec 4L60E converter will not be compatible with the newer 4L65E trans due to the trans input shaft. you will have to see once the trans is out what input shaft both transmissions have.
This may help some to show the differences.
https://ls1tech.com/forums/automatic...s1-4l60-e.html
Thank you for your imout, it would appear that, it is different, and for my sake of having less headaches, I will just wait and rebuild the 65 and out in a brand new drivline instead of taking the risk.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
LesMyer
Engine & Transmission
0
01-10-2016 09:35 AM
Jakeduece
Engine & Transmission
4
09-28-2012 10:09 PM
jwalker1992
Engine & Transmission
2
08-09-2012 10:03 PM
otto96blazer
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
0
03-10-2012 10:22 AM
Crawlerchris
Engine & Transmission
2
01-12-2010 07:08 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 4l60e torque converter issues


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.