Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

School me on Torque Converters

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2009, 07:20 AM
Beginning Member
nineteensixtycaddy is on a distinguished road
Default School me on Torque Converters

Ok, I'm new to these, what do I need to know?

For starters... took a locked engine out of my 4WD automatic 95 blazer, out came the flywheel AND the torque converter. So... flywheel is bent, and I can't get the motor to turn, so the torque converter and flywheel are staying stuck to the old blown up block.

Not a problem, I have an extra torque converter and flywheel from a 80's model RWD. Outside dimensions the same, even the part # is the same (looked it up on autozone and advance auto's website by year make model etc.)

So... where's the problem? Just throw it in? Ehh... I'm leary.

and here's why.

The torque converter laid down for a while, and spilled trans fluid (I think it's trans fluid) all over the floor of my garage. So... how do I know how MUCH fluid to put back in? or what kind of fluid?

Do torque converters get filled with trans fluid?

Does the fluid recirculate through the transmission? or is it a "sealed" unit, that leaks when tipped?

Is there a "proper" way to drain and refil a torque converter? and is it recommended, or should I just top it off.

How do you tell when it's full?

Ok.. nuff dumb questions i guess... tell it like it is, and educate me please!!!

Old 08-22-2009, 07:55 AM
reelbroke2 is on a distinguished road