General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Swapping Engines

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2006, 04:36 PM
kissmike is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Swapping Engines

Hello All

Newbie here. I am looking for some information on a project that my mechanic is considering. He asked me to look for info on the net so here I am. Before posting my question to you, allow me to state that I have used the search function here and have come up with partial answers to the question I am posting so I have done some homework. I would be greatly appreciative of some further advice.

The potential project is a 1987 Blazer. 2.8 V6 TBI 4x4.

I want to know if a 4.3 TBI from a 1992 4X4 will go into the 1987 Blazer? Basically, I need to address all the issues that I can expect to run into. For example;

Computer compatibilty
Transmission compatibility (I have the tranny from the '92)
Exhaust compatibilty
Any other "hidden" expectations such engine/tranny mounts, ect.

I have done the research on other posts and understand that the transmisson bell housing (on the '87 2.8 V6) is not compatible with the 4.3 TBI from the '92.

I need to report back with a thorough examination of all issues that can be expected so that we can make a decision on whether to proceed or not. ANY advice or help would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your input.

Old 02-20-2006, 09:55 PM
blazingsadle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Swapping Engines

New motor mounts, use the whole combo, both engine and tranny. May have to improve cooling. If you have access to the other radiator, it would help.