Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

No juice left?

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2014, 09:15 AM
Starting Member
Paul Smith is on a distinguished road
Question No juice left?

I have been upgrading my blazer for a couple of years now. I just finished with a new stereo system and placing 6 KC off road lights on the vehicle. Prior to that I installed new HID headlights and signal blubs to the vehicle. Now if I let vehicle sit for a week the battery drains, or when I turn on the 6 lights while running the Voltmeter goes way down and the lights are not bright. The vehicle now is starting to lose electrical power idling.

Do I need a new Battery or install a second one, or should I upgrade my alternator to one that can handle the additional load.

Old 11-08-2014, 10:56 AM
Super Moderator
rexmburns is a jewel in the roughrexmburns is a jewel in the roughrexmburns is a jewel in the rough

I would upgrade your alternator and your battery.

Old 11-11-2014, 11:49 AM
Blazers.B.Kewl is an unknown quantity at this point

Battery draining in a week may be normal, but probably isn't. This may be related to your new stereo. It may be requiring more power to run something while the truck is off. Easy test is to pull the stereo fuse and see if sitting for a week drains the battery. If you have a voltmeter handy you can measure the current coming out of the battery with everything connected and then again with the stereo fuse out. Figure out what is draining your battery one fuse at a time.