The Lounge For casual talk about things unrelated to Blazers (ie. Off-Topic).

Mig Welding Wire

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2010, 12:50 PM
Starting Member
LowLife is on a distinguished road
Default Mig Welding Wire

I need to buy some new mig wire im using .023 size With Argon gas, I weld mostly thin sheet metal, Im not sure if i want to buy a Carbon steel wire, Or Stainless steel. Anyone have any input on what would be a better?

Has anyone ever used aluminum mig wire? I am wondering if it really works good or not? I was always told to tig aluminum

Old 05-09-2010, 12:59 PM
Starting Member
RebelJimmy96 is on a distinguished road

OK ill chime in on this one i am a master certified welder
bump that wire up to .030 with a 75% 25% mix for better welds
your best bet is to tig aluminum Ive tried the MIG it way and it sucks
what MIG machine do u have>??
that wire is just MIG Solid wire.
if u have any more questions just pm me! im willing to help allways

Old 05-09-2010, 01:56 PM
Starting Member
LowLife is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up

Thanks for the tips, I am always glad to learn something new.

I use a 220v mig from Chicago electric "harbor freight" 30-160 amp gas welder, i had a Hobart welder that was permanently borrowed "i left my garage unlocked" , But all in all no complaints about this welder at all it works great, I had it for about 2 years.

I figured the aluminum mig wire would not work right, I was gonna buy a 2lb spool and try it, But now i know.

Old 05-09-2010, 06:13 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute