Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Shocks & Springs on ZW7

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2021, 05:01 PM
Beginning Member
GS-Drew is on a distinguished road
Default Shocks & Springs on ZW7

I'm new to Blazers and have since learned I have the ZW7 premium ride suspension. I don't intend to go off roading, other than a gravel road or two, so I guess the soft ride package will be a good thing. I also have 4 cupped tires and a nice drone at and above 55 MPH. The suspension feels stiff to me and it corners nicely. Everything looks factory under it, but there are 4 clean-ish Carquest gas-charged shocks. They're probably the stiffest one CQ has to offer a Blazer. The ball joints don't feel bad, using a long prybar under the tire. So, I'm thinking... Could the cupping be caused by a mismatch between the shocks and springs? Assuming the springs are also lighter. Is there an RPO number to ID the springs?
So what can expect by replacing the shocks to ZW7
equivalent, and are the Bil$teins my only ZW7 options? Are softer Blazer shocks available?
BTW... my Blazer is a 2000 LS, 4D, 4WD, AT, it's always been garage kept, my family owned, w/ no kids or pets, originally sold in AZ and it only has 111.5 K miles on the clock. It's looks new in and out.
I've already done the driver side door pins and bushings, the AC and replaced the DS door panel snaps. Eventually I'll be doing an AT fluid & filter change.
TIA,
-Drew from SJ CA

2000 Blazer LS

Old 06-03-2021, 11:34 PM
BF Veteran
christine_208 will become famous soon enough

I have the same suspension.

For my front shocks I added 2" longer off road shocks that seem to have worked fine the last several years.